What the Mayans Needed: Joda Time!

I ran across this article on Yahoo! News and it got me to thinking about Dates (mostly how JDK Date sucks), and their place in applications. My little stroll down memory lane included the super-high consulting fees of pre-Y2K days (I wasn’t yet a consultant back in ’97-’99). What’s a couple of digits gonna hurt? Not much as it turned out (mostly because – I believe – that the code most likely to blow chunks was cleaned up ahead of time).

No doubt about it: dates and date calculations are important in enterprise applications. And Joda-Time is a great library for Java applications. I never miss an opportunity to plug Joda-Time, or the IBM Developer Works article I wrote on it.

What do you think? Talk to me.

–jsp

Leave a Reply

