What is Truth?

Saying there is one Truth is like saying there is only one kind of food to eat. Experience shows us that there are lots of foods to eat because we practice eating all the time. Unfortunately, we don’t practice spirituality much at all, so our experience is limited. In fact, I would argue that to the vast majority of people, practicing spirituality is an alien concept, which means we pretty much all suck at it. Is it any wonder then that there is so much division along religious lines in the world?

Why do we talk? Debate? Exchange ideas? I would argue that it is because an honest debate begins with the premise that I have an idea and you have an idea and we both might learn something from the exchange, which may ultimately shape our perception of “the truth.” We are both “right” in the sense that we bring something to the exchange we perceive as correct (or functional or valuable or whatever makes a belief “work”). But when we’re done, if our ego is not in control of the exchange, our positions may be forever altered for having had the exchange (vis-a-vis “Hey I didn’t see it like that. Cool.”). If our egos are in control, then you’re still wrong and I’m still right (or from your perspective I’m wrong and you’re right), and we’ve not done anything but try to convert each other to the “Truth.”

I never could get my head wrapped around any particular set of ideas and beliefs as the “Truth.” The whole idea never resonated with me. I mean, who says I’m “right” anyway? Me? What if I got my opinions from a book. Maybe a sacred book. Well, who says it’s sacred? If I believe it’s sacred, then it is. TO ME. But do I have the right to make you believe it, just because I do? See, here’s the absolute genius of belief systems that have this view of right and wrong. Their fundamental tenets (which must be spelled out in the sacred tome) must state that not only is everything written herein the Truth, but the fact that this sacred writing says so is proof enough, and furthermore (here’s the kicker) everybody who believes otherwise is (insert fate of “unbelievers” here). And to top it all off, you are never ever (ever) allowed to change your belief or you are weak. So this system sets itself up to be rigid and self-reinforcing.

What would possess me to think that just because I believe it, it’s the “Truth?” It may be MY Truth, but I have NO RIGHT to force it onto you. I would like to share it with you, but in doing so, your ideas will possibly influence my view and forever alter it.

NOW I’m practicing spirituality. The world is changing. People are beginning to see that it is no longer acceptable to force ideas about something so personal upon others.

Our collective human ego is dying.

3 Responses to “What is Truth?”

  1. darthem Says:

    That was freakin’ brilliant. Yeah- you need to write a book…
    Oprah, soprah.

  2. jstevenperry Says:

    Ah, Em. You’re too sweet. Thanks!

  3. Very good! Isn’t it interesting that those programs we see about tribal people such as the Hadze, are still very much in contact with their spiritual side, but we ‘advanced’ people have lost this aspect of our humanity. I don’t believe we have gained anything at all in doing so. This is another area that I’ve written about… I’d be interested in your views on the following blog – keep up the good work!
    http://thecolourofmymind.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/truth-is-chosen/

Leave a Reply

