Tips for Developing Your Software Development Skills

Here’s another one:

Write Less Code.

Yep. That’s right, kids. I have found as I mature as a developer that I write less code. But there are those times when my brain tells me that writing more code is the answer to a particular problem. Or that I should just throw something away and start over (though, in all fairness, there are times when that is the right answer).

When I’m looking to solve a problem, I always search for an existing solution to the problem. If none exists, then, of course I will write code as necessary. But I’m not in the business of writing code. I am in the business of using information technology to solve business problems. Sometimes that means I write code.

But not if I can help it.

2 thoughts on “Tips for Developing Your Software Development Skills

  1. Couldn’t have said it better myself. When I was learning Visual Basic and other languages this was one of the biggest hurdles to get past. The problem was with the way the language was taught. But fortunately I was surrounded by code writing gurus that helped me to not give in to the dark side of code writing!

    -Brett
    Atomic Blogging World

  2. Thanks for your comment, Brett. The “dark side of code writing”. I like that. It’s so true, and I believe many in the consulting business use that to pad their wallets (writing lots of unnecessary code, that is).

    Steve

Leave a Reply

