Google Web Toolkit

I’ve been looking at Google Web Toolkit (GWT) and am excited. I know there are a zillion UI frameworks for Java out there, but GWT is different. And by different I mean backed by Google. In fact, at Google IO, Google announced Wave, and in doing so said (several times, which I thought was interesting) that Wave is build on GWT.

GWT is impressive. It’s programming model is (1) write your client code in Java, (2) GWT translates it to JavaScript, and (3) make lots of money. Okay, I made that last part up, but I am warming up to the programming model.

I worked with a UI product a few years back whose model was lots of JavaScript to simulate a rich UI experience and smirked at it. Well, things have changed. Everybody’s got more bandwidth, for one, so 500# of JavaScript (I actually weighed it once) isn’t what it used to be.

So, I’m big on GWT. Google’s big on GWT. So, get GWT, you nitwit.

Leave a Reply

