Planes, Trains and Dodge Trucks

I’ve been wanting to buy a new truck for some time now, and figured out a few months ago what I wanted: a new Dodge Ram 2500 Quad-Cab with the Cummins Diesel engine. Do I need one? No. I just want it because, well, I want it.

But, I just never could feel good about it. I haven’t bought a new truck, and continue to offer up many different excuses as to why not. “It’s not the right time.” or “With gas prices the way they are, it doesn’t make sense.” The bottom line is, it just seems wasteful. But, hey, I’m an American. We’re good at being wasteful.

Then I saw a movie called Crude Impact. I’m not much of a joiner, and definitely not an activist, but this movie really struck a chord with me. While the world’s thirst for oil continues to grow, our supplies continue to dwindle. It doesn’t take a scientist to see this is not a sustainable climate (ah, hell, pun intended). The producers have put together a web site that outlines what we can do. Unless we can decrease our dependence on fossil fuels, we are in serious trouble. Not only is an untenable economic situation in our future, but a resulting man-induced global climate change could seriously diminish the Earth’s capacity to sustain human life (though the Earth will be just fine, and it cracks me up to hear how we are “destroying the Earth,” which will be here long after we are gone).

So what do we do? Well, for starters, I’m going to stop and start. Stop wasting and start conserving. Stop using my recycle bin as a backyard trash bin and start taking it out to the curb every week. Stop wanting for things I don’t need and start being more thankful for what I have.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to get in my SUV and go get some more fluorescent bulbs. Yeah, I know

Leave a Reply

