Best Group Yet

I’ve been dabbling with benchrest shooting for a couple of months, and have discovered a whole new way to enjoy going to the shooting range. Pistols are great – don’t get me wrong – but there’s something about benchrest shooting that appeals to the control freak in me. Here’s a 5 shot group at 100 yards I shot back in August using a hand loaded 77 grain Sierra match king bullet with my Savage model 12 Rem .223 Long Range Precision Varminter:

5-shot-group-08-12-07

Wow!

Of course, this speaks more to the rifle than to my ability to shoot it. It has a Leupold Mark IV 8-25x scope with mil dot reticle (don’t ask how much it cost). The rifle has a 7″ twist and a 26″ barrel (which is why I used such a heavy bullet – for a .223, that is).

Fun stuff.

2 Responses to “Best Group Yet”

  1. […] Shot this one Saturday (1-5-08) in pretty windy conditions. This is the same load as I used to shoot the group I posted earlier on this site. 77 grain Sierra match King .223 bullet, 24.0 grains of Hodgdon Varget powder in a Lapua case with Federal Gold Match primer. Here it is: […]

  2. Nice work, keep posting them.

Leave a Reply

