Caller ID is turning me anti-social

It’s true. And it dawned on me the other day when I picked up the phone (which has the caller ID built into it now, not helping my anti-social tendencies any) and thought, “Okay, who are you (number flashes up). Don’t know ya. (Slam goes the phone back on the cradle).”

Used to be we could screen our calls if someone cared enough to leave a message (telemarketers never did). More people came to live with me, and suddenly, I couldn’t record a funny (or goofy according to my wife) message. Then along came caller ID and suddenly we never had to talk to anyone again. Ever. Leave a message. Maybe I’ll call you back. Maybe I won’t. Of course, noone ever really calls me. Most calls to my house (since I’ve gotten on the “do not freakin’ call me” list, anyways) are for my wife. Or lately, my 10 year old daughter (who’s going on 18 it seems). No calls for me.

So why am I sad? I didn’t really want to answer the phone anyway. I guess I just wanted someone to call ME so I can ignore them. But lately I only get to ignore other people’s calls. Bummer. But if YOU call me I promise I won’t ignore you. What’s your number again?

Leave a Reply

